Page 1 of 1

Integrating softphone with another application

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:53 am
by Francesco
Hi, we have an application for managing a group of service center operators. Each workstation has a sp running with a fixed sip number, and what we need to do, when an operator logs into our app, is :


1) Receive incoming calls notifications inside our app
2) Be able to answer, refuse or transfer incoming call

To do the first we'd need to send a push to our application, and to send a push we need Vicidial to call a ur1 on our server via h77p everytime there is an incoming call.
To do the latter we need Vicidial api to be able to answer, refuse or transfer. In call transfer scenario we also need to know who to transfer the call to.

Could you help me evaluate each condition we'd like to attain and tell me if it's possible?

I tried to look at Vicidial APIs but SVN seems to be down.

Thanks in advance, hoping to hear from you. Best regards.

PS : I had to write h77p and ur1, otherwise it would not let me post.
PPS : I forgot, our application is in adobe flex.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:18 am
by mflorell
As for "incoming call" so you mean call coming into ViciDial or call coming into a specific agent?

As for refusal of a call, ViciDial offers no capacity for that at the agent level.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:29 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:As for "incoming call" so you mean call coming into ViciDial or call coming into a specific agent?

As for refusal of a call, ViciDial offers no capacity for that at the agent level.


I mean call coming into a specific agent. After the agent has received the call he would be able to answer or reject it. We'd like to do it without having the user open his softphone client.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:10 am
by mflorell
ViciDial does not work this way. When an agent logs in their phone is off hook the whole time, they do not hang up their phone in-between calls.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:44 pm
by williamconley
what happens to the call if they "reject it"? hangup? next agent? forward the call to cia headquarters?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:20 am
by Francesco
williamconley wrote:what happens to the call if they "reject it"? hangup? next agent? forward the call to cia headquarters?


I'd say hangup. To forward it to the next agent or to cia headquarters they'd have a forward button in the UI.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:21 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:ViciDial does not work this way. When an agent logs in their phone is off hook the whole time, they do not hang up their phone in-between calls.


Does the phone ring when there is an incoming call? I guess the agent has to accept the call, doesn't he?

Anyway the most pressing argument is whether Vicidial can call our application when there is an incoming call. Or if it's possible to do this by directly reading from database or using a trigger on specific database actions. What do you say?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:05 am
by mflorell
No, the phone does not ring when a call comes into an agent, as I stated above, the agent picks up the phone when they log in and the phone stays off-hook until they log out. The agent will receive a tone to let them know a call has been sent to them, and of course the agent application will show that a call has been sent to them.

Yes, you can have a trigger sent to your application when a ViciDial Agent receives a phone call. This can be done in a couple of ways, the easiest of which would be using the Start Call URL feature.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:20 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:No, the phone does not ring when a call comes into an agent, as I stated above, the agent picks up the phone when they log in and the phone stays off-hook until they log out. The agent will receive a tone to let them know a call has been sent to them, and of course the agent application will show that a call has been sent to them.


Yes I understood the phone stays off-hook, but can we consider the tone as "ringing"? And then from the agent application you can answer or let it "ring"?

mflorell wrote:Yes, you can have a trigger sent to your application when a ViciDial Agent receives a phone call. This can be done in a couple of ways, the easiest of which would be using the Start Call U*L feature.


Could you please tell me more of this "Start Call U*L feature"? Is it an api function? Or something to configure in vicidial administration?
They tell me we've bought the docs from the store, I'll also try to look there.

Thanks, your help is precious!!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:22 am
by mflorell
The agent has no choice whether to take the call, if they are available in the system, the call goes to them immediately.

The ViciDial Manager Manual and the help screens in admin.php has more information about the Start Call URL feature. It is set in the campaign detail screen and in the in-group modification screen.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:26 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:The agent has no choice whether to take the call, if they are available in the system, the call goes to them immediately.

The ViciDial Manager Manual and the help screens in admin.php has more information about the Start Call U*L feature. It is set in the campaign detail screen and in the in-group modification screen.


Thanks, I'll look into it.

Just one more thing I still cannot understand, the agent has no choice to take the call, you say it goes to him immediately, does that mean he hears the tone and then the call starts? i.e. he hears someone talking to him?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:05 am
by mflorell
Yes

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:18 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:Yes


Ok, thanks again. I'm looking into the docs and I'll make some try. :)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:10 am
by Francesco
I was going to do some attempt but I almost broke my leg and will be going back to work on monday. While in my bed I came up with another question : is it possible with apis to tell vicidial that an agent is not available to receive incoming calls until further notice? Like a coffee break pause?
If not could it be implemented by writing directly to the database?
Thanks for your patience.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:32 pm
by mflorell
Yes, you can pause an agent using the agent API.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:28 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:Yes, you can pause an agent using the agent API.


Thanks :)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:24 am
by Francesco
I'm back working at this, so, is it necessary for the user to log into the client agc2 GUI (the one that needs phone, agent and campaign fields) ? Would it be possible to login via APIs?
Thanks again

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:46 am
by mflorell
You cannot login as an agent only using the API.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:47 am
by Francesco
mflorell wrote:You cannot login as an agent only using the API.


Fine, thanks :)