Page 1 of 1

Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2024 11:43 am
by d001
Hello,

I hope you are all doing well.

I’m facing an issue with my server, and I would greatly appreciate your assistance. When my agents make manual calls using Vicidial, they don’t receive any notification if the number they are dialing doesn’t exist. However, when calling the same number using a smartphone, they hear a message indicating that the number is non-existent, busy, or turned off.

How can I configure Vicidial to provide a similar notification for non-existent numbers?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:21 pm
by williamconley
Vicidial regurgitates the error message as a popup in the agent screen. The code is sent to it by asterisk, which in turn gets that code from your carrier. Your carrier does not provide verbal notice, thus your PBX (Asterisk, controlled by Vicidial) does not pass any audio to the agent.

That's why all the agent gets is the "code" in the popup after asterisk times out on awaiting an answer (or other faster response if the call is rejected).

Learn what the codes mean (quick google search should do it) and inform the agents. That being said: I could see it being useful to have those codes converted to English, but different carriers return different codes since there really are no rules for calls that do not connect. So having a base translation in place and also having the ability to customize those for your system or specific to certain carriers may be useful. If someone wants to pay to have that coded.

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2024 7:18 pm
by ambiorixg12
The message you're referring to is the Early Media message. It's the informational message you receive before the call is answered. In the case of Vicidial, I don't think you'll get that message, as, if I'm not wrong, the call just goes to the agent's conference once it's answered. As suggested in the previous reply, you could use the hangup cause code to get a general idea of the reason the call ended.

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2024 8:00 am
by d001
Thank you for your response, and I apologize for the delayed reply. I have been exploring alternative solutions to address this issue, but unfortunately, I haven't found any.

After extensive research, I realize your suggestion is indeed the best approach. I sincerely appreciate your help and the time you took to provide guidance.

Wishing you all the best!

Best regards!

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2024 12:01 pm
by d001
Hello everyone, I hope you're all doing well!

I found the solution to this problem. I’m not sure if it will work in other countries, but it worked for me.

Let me explain briefly. As you mentioned, the server has a code map that indicates why a call is hung up. I discovered that the issue was in the dial plan.

This line in my dial plan was the reason the audio message wasn’t sent to my agent but only triggered the code map:
Code: Select all
exten => _355.,n,Dial(${TRUNK1}/${EXTEN:0},60,tTorR)


I changed it to the following, and it works very well now:
Code: Select all
exten => _355.,n,Dial(${TRUNK1}/${EXTEN:0},55,tTo)


Honestly, I’m a bit confused because I can’t fully explain why this happens, but I felt it was important to share the solution here.

Thanks a lot!

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2024 2:30 pm
by carpenox
yea tTo is typically what i use unless i want ringing sound ill add r

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2024 8:32 pm
by williamconley
d001 wrote:Hello everyone, I hope you're all doing well!

I found the solution to this problem. I’m not sure if it will work in other countries, but it worked for me.

Let me explain briefly. As you mentioned, the server has a code map that indicates why a call is hung up. I discovered that the issue was in the dial plan.

This line in my dial plan was the reason the audio message wasn’t sent to my agent but only triggered the code map:
Code: Select all
exten => _355.,n,Dial(${TRUNK1}/${EXTEN:0},60,tTorR)


I changed it to the following, and it works very well now:
Code: Select all
exten => _355.,n,Dial(${TRUNK1}/${EXTEN:0},55,tTo)


Honestly, I’m a bit confused because I can’t fully explain why this happens, but I felt it was important to share the solution here.

Thanks a lot!


1) Why EXTEN:0? The number after the first ":" represents the number of digits to ... remove. Zero? LOL (doesn't hurt anything, just weird)

2) Apparently you may look into the progressinband setting in sip.conf which may or may not be useful.

3) R and r may have been arguing with each other as they have different viewpoints on ringing and even require different code presence. Perhaps one or the other would have been sufficient, but both is probably not a great idea.

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2024 3:56 am
by d001
williamconley wrote:1) Why EXTEN:0? The number after the first ":" represents the number of digits to ... remove. Zero? LOL (doesn't hurt anything, just weird)

Haha, because I have three different trunks (carriers) with different numbers, I’ve separated them. For this one, I left the prefix 355 (which is my country’s prefix), and I kept exten:0 because I’ve set the default prefix as 355 in the campaign. Additionally, I used omit:Y, which removes the extra 355. LOL.

For the other campaigns, I did it differently:
Code: Select all
exten => _4355.,n,Dial(${TRUNKA}/${EXTEN:1},55,tTo)

In the campaign, I set the prefix to 4 only, and I removed the extra number using EXTEN:1. I applied similar logic to other campaigns as well.
williamconley wrote:2) Apparently you may look into the progressinband setting in sip.conf which may or may not be useful.

Regarding the progress inbound setting:
Code: Select all
progressinband=no ; If we should generate in-band ringing always

williamconley wrote:3) R and r may have been arguing with each other as they have different viewpoints on ringing and even require different code presence. Perhaps one or the other would have been sufficient, but both is probably not a great idea.

I understand.
Thanks a lot, William!

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2024 4:29 pm
by williamconley
Weird but ok.

Most of our clients have a single digit for each carrier and always remove that single digit. Until they have more than 10 carriers, anyway. LOL

But there's no right/wrong way to do it. If your calls go through the correct carrier and you don't need to alter the lead phones to dial out and your inbound CIDs from leads match their phone numbers, you're doing it right however you're doing it. 8-)

Thanks for simply answering the questions as asked. That's unusual. ;)

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2024 4:17 am
by d001
Yes, everything is okay! Inbound and outbound calls are going through the correct carrier, and the list performance is great. One agent can make more than 130 calls per day.

I'm encountering many strange things that I don’t fully understand, but I’m dealing with them. LOL!

Actually, I should thank you and the forum I’ve found solutions here many times, which is unusual. :)

Re: Issue with Non-Existent Number Notifications in Vicidial

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2024 2:56 pm
by carpenox
Thats how our community is, everyone is pretty helpful