Page 1 of 1

loading cyrillic leads

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:23 am
by Op3r
This is going to be a head ache of mine

How do you load leads if it is in cyrillic?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:05 am
by mflorell
That sounds very interesting :)

What is the language set that MySQL was installed with?

What version of MySQL are you using?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:11 am
by Op3r
english? :(

Im using mysql without any problem whatsoever just that a client will load leads in cyrillic :(

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:23 am
by mflorell
Not sure what to say, I have heard from other users that have set MySQL to different languages that don't seem to have an issue with it, but that might require some reworking of your database. Maybe switching the language to UTF8 would do the trick since that's supposed to be able to handle everything.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:49 am
by Op3r
Oh so its definitely the encoding?

Let me try to switch it to UTF8

thanks man.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:30 am
by Op3r
made it to switch to UTF by adding this to my.cnf

# utf8
init-connect='SET NAMES utf8'
character-set-server=utf8
collation-server=utf8_general_ci

now instead of empty spaces I get ?????? :(

do I need something else too? chenge the encoding of the php scripts? :(

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:59 pm
by mflorell
I have not worked with that myself, but it is possible that you may need to recompile PHP for the same language.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 6:40 am
by Op3r
Im thinking about reformatting the server and do it in russian.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:52 am
by heinz
Hi Op3r,

are you still working on that issue?
I have a quite similar problem with special characters like äöü... I changed a lot to utf-8 and even used utf8_encode (PHP) in the code. The result is I get everything displayed fine (at least seems to) but it gets written back into the database totally messed up (i.e. if the agent adds a comment).

If you have any new infos I would be glad to hear them...

Thanks,
heinz

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:14 am
by Op3r
How did you managed to do that? care to elaborate more?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:43 am
by heinz
Hi,

I am still experimenting with admin_modify_lead.php

The best result I got so far was when I changed the code (i.e. around line 320) to something like that:
Code: Select all
$first_name      = utf8_encode($row[13]);

In this case it displays the data fine, but in the db the special-characters appear cryptic. Therefore I still can't export the data from the db without mistakes.
Sometimes the browser or terminal changes the character encoding automatically.
I am so confused...

thanks,
heinz