Page 1 of 1

prevent hotkey registration when in a text field

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:55 am
by DomeDan
Is it possible to prevent hotkey registration when in a text field?
because when a agent forgets he got hotkeys activated he puts the cursor in a text field to write a value for the SALE he is gonna registrate and when he starts to write he accidently register a callback or whatever the first number he starts writing is.

I havent checked the source code yet because i want to ask you guys before i try to make any ugly hack.

Wasnt sure if this topic belongs here under features or under support...

My specs is in my signature

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:38 am
by mflorell
This is not currently a feature, sounds like it would be a good one though. I would suggest opening a ticket in the Issue Tracker and working from there.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:31 am
by DomeDan
Yes box alright!
here's the ticket if someone else found this topic when looking for this feature, and would like to know it's status: http://www.eflo.net/VICIDIALmantis/view.php?id=469
Thanks for the tip mflorell !

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:06 am
by DomeDan
I got an better idea and this is probably how it should work.
To keep the hot keys activated you need to keep the cursor on the hot key button,
but when I pull the cursor up to the text-fields, the hot keys are still active because the hot key button is covered by HotKeyEntriesBox div

I changed this in vicidial.php:
<span style="position:absolute;left:5px;top:<?php echo $HTheight ?>px;z-index:<?php $zi++; echo $zi ?>;" id="HotKeyEntriesBox">

To:
<span style="position:absolute;left:5px;top:<?php echo $HTheight-35 ?>px;z-index:<?php $zi++; echo $zi ?>;" id="HotKeyEntriesBox">


Now the HotKeyEntriesBox appears about 5px above the Hot Key button.
I use Iceweasel browser (firefox for debian) and screen resolution: 1280x1024 pixels (382x302 millimeters)
when I login with resolution: 1680x1050 the HotKeyEntriesBox is about 15px above the hot key button

Now there wont be no more accidental hot key registrations when typing in a order value because when the cursor leaves the button to click in a text-field the hot keys wont be active till they move the cursor back to the hot key button.

It would probably be possible to make this dynamic, put a value here: $HTheight-$VariableBasedOnScreenRes I think that would be a better feature request

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 7:55 am
by mflorell
Please make sure these notes are in the issue tracker ticket.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 10:20 am
by williamconley
and after only 19 posts. very nice.