Page 1 of 1

Changed admin level 1 per manual and can't login now

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:51 pm
by torontob
Hello,

I changed the admin account Level to 1 and now I can't login. Seems like a bad password maybe?! I haven't changed the default password. How can I change back to original state? Please be detailed as I am new to Linux and MySql, etc...

Thanks

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:34 pm
by mflorell
Can you point me to where specifically it says in the manual to change the user level to 1?

To fix this you have to go into the database directly and change the user_level in the vicidial_users table to 9.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:58 pm
by williamconley
mysql -p (-p may be optional depending on your install)
use asterisk;
select user_id, user, pass, full_name, user_level from vicidial_users;

find your entry

update vicidial_users set user_level=9 where user_id=XXX

XXX = your userid

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:33 pm
by torontob
Thanks for the details williamconley. This is exactly what I needed. However, I have already re-install ViciDialNow. Thanks to the quick breeze install. I will be able to use your details in future. I have another question regarding this. I remember that I have once used this simple nice GUI program which used to connect to MySql from MS Windows and would populate all tables for ease of access. Do you know of any program(s) like that which runs on MS platforms?

Thanks,

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:43 am
by okli
I use HeidiSQL, simple and intuitive to work with:

http://www.heidisql.com/

That's actually the old MySQL GUI, which due to some licensing issues with MySQL had to change the name.

There is also a package from Sun/MySQL which I have never tried:
http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/gui-tools/

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:14 am
by ykhan
Probably one of the best tools for this out there is phpmyadmin.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:08 am
by torontob
Thatnks for the input guys. Is phpmyadmin installed on ViciDialNow by default? If "Not", is there an automated install script for it?

Thanks

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:01 am
by williamconley
Everyone I know uses phpMyAdmin. I prefer Webmin. But I'm odd. I use Gentoo, and both can be automatically installed through emerge.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:46 pm
by torontob
Hidisql seems to be neat. Before I get phpmyadmin installed I think I can use this. What are the credentials to connect to MySql via Hidisql? Does it use the default port? Do I have to open access to be able to get it MySql from outside? What is the username? What is the password? What tables are used by ViciDial?

Thanks

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 7:24 pm
by okli
I usually create ssh tunnel with Putty and login to localhost/cron/cronpassword (default is 1234 as far as I remember).
http://realprogrammers.com/how_to/set_u ... putty.html
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&num= ... bg|lang_en


If you are in a local network you may want to connect directly to the MySQL server using serverIP/cron/cronpassword.
Does it use the default port?
Well, you give HeidiSQL whatever you configured MySQL with. If it listens to port 3306 as the default is, then you give 3306 to HeidiSQL.

What tables are used by ViciDial?
Database is called asterisk. Tables you will see and start understanding which is what, there are number of them and names are quite self-explaining the purpose.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:22 pm
by torontob
Thanks for all the good input specially on the SSH tunned as I have always been interested to get it working and never got a chance to read on it.

Following is what I get when I try root username, cron username, port 22, and default mySql port:

Can't connect to server.
elastrix googlepages com/sqlError.jpg

This is a straight up VicidialNow server install and I have not tampered with any of the config files or changed any firewall settings. I am on the same subnet and same network but yet can't connect to pull up the Asterisk database.

Thanks