Page 1 of 1

DB on seperate server

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:07 pm
by heinz
Hi guys,
I installed vicidialnow and then moved the DB on a different server. I changed astguiclient.conf and copied the /usr/share/astguiclient/AST* scripts to the DB server.
The I created the following crontab on the DB server:
Code: Select all
### flush queue DB table every hour for entries older than 1 hour
11 * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_flush_DBqueue.pl -q

### fix the vicidial_agent_log once every hour
33 * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_cleanup_agent_log.pl

### updater for VICIDIAL hopper
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_VDhopper.pl -q

### adjust the GMT offset for the leads in the vicidial_list table
1 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/ADMIN_adjust_GMTnow_on_leads.pl --debug

### reset several temporary-info tables in the database
2 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_reset_mysql_vars.pl

### optimize the database tables within the asterisk database
3 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_DB_optimize.pl

## adjust time on the server with ntp
# 30 * * * * ntpdate -u ntp.myfloridacity.us 2>/dev/null 1>&2

Is that all I need to consider or is a there something missing. Do I need the other crontab entries and scripts too?
Everything seems to work so far though...
Thanks,
heinz

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:36 pm
by williamconley
If ALL you moved onto the DB server is ... the DB (not going to run web, not going to run asterisk, JUST db ...) you do NOT need to run the scripts on the DB server.

If I recall correctly from my last run, you can simply change the astguiclient.conf database connection information and make sure you move (well, copy to be safe, lol) the database to the new location and set up the "user" on the new database server to be able to connect.

to test the user, you can attempt to initiate mysql from the vicidial box mysql -uUSER -pPASSWORD -hXXX.XXX.XXX.XXX. this will demonstrate that you can initiate a remote mysql connection from the vicidial box. once that works, vicidial can do it, too ... and you're in business.

and the only service you're using on the remote box is mysql, vicidial will treat it as though it's running locally, you're just borrowing the CPU on the other box for Mysql. that's all.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:36 am
by heinz
You are so right,
the scripts do get their DB-config from the astguiclient.conf. Therefore it's not necessary to run them on the DB-server.

Thanks for your confirmation,
heinz