Integrating softphone with another application

Any and all non-support discussions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Integrating softphone with another application

Postby Francesco » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:53 am

Hi, we have an application for managing a group of service center operators. Each workstation has a sp running with a fixed sip number, and what we need to do, when an operator logs into our app, is :


1) Receive incoming calls notifications inside our app
2) Be able to answer, refuse or transfer incoming call

To do the first we'd need to send a push to our application, and to send a push we need Vicidial to call a ur1 on our server via h77p everytime there is an incoming call.
To do the latter we need Vicidial api to be able to answer, refuse or transfer. In call transfer scenario we also need to know who to transfer the call to.

Could you help me evaluate each condition we'd like to attain and tell me if it's possible?

I tried to look at Vicidial APIs but SVN seems to be down.

Thanks in advance, hoping to hear from you. Best regards.

PS : I had to write h77p and ur1, otherwise it would not let me post.
PPS : I forgot, our application is in adobe flex.
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:18 am

As for "incoming call" so you mean call coming into ViciDial or call coming into a specific agent?

As for refusal of a call, ViciDial offers no capacity for that at the agent level.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:29 am

mflorell wrote:As for "incoming call" so you mean call coming into ViciDial or call coming into a specific agent?

As for refusal of a call, ViciDial offers no capacity for that at the agent level.


I mean call coming into a specific agent. After the agent has received the call he would be able to answer or reject it. We'd like to do it without having the user open his softphone client.
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:10 am

ViciDial does not work this way. When an agent logs in their phone is off hook the whole time, they do not hang up their phone in-between calls.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby williamconley » Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:44 pm

what happens to the call if they "reject it"? hangup? next agent? forward the call to cia headquarters?
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
Newest Product: Vicidial Agent Only Beep - Beta
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44(203) 769-2294
williamconley
 
Posts: 20258
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Postby Francesco » Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:20 am

williamconley wrote:what happens to the call if they "reject it"? hangup? next agent? forward the call to cia headquarters?


I'd say hangup. To forward it to the next agent or to cia headquarters they'd have a forward button in the UI.
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby Francesco » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:21 am

mflorell wrote:ViciDial does not work this way. When an agent logs in their phone is off hook the whole time, they do not hang up their phone in-between calls.


Does the phone ring when there is an incoming call? I guess the agent has to accept the call, doesn't he?

Anyway the most pressing argument is whether Vicidial can call our application when there is an incoming call. Or if it's possible to do this by directly reading from database or using a trigger on specific database actions. What do you say?
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:05 am

No, the phone does not ring when a call comes into an agent, as I stated above, the agent picks up the phone when they log in and the phone stays off-hook until they log out. The agent will receive a tone to let them know a call has been sent to them, and of course the agent application will show that a call has been sent to them.

Yes, you can have a trigger sent to your application when a ViciDial Agent receives a phone call. This can be done in a couple of ways, the easiest of which would be using the Start Call URL feature.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:20 am

mflorell wrote:No, the phone does not ring when a call comes into an agent, as I stated above, the agent picks up the phone when they log in and the phone stays off-hook until they log out. The agent will receive a tone to let them know a call has been sent to them, and of course the agent application will show that a call has been sent to them.


Yes I understood the phone stays off-hook, but can we consider the tone as "ringing"? And then from the agent application you can answer or let it "ring"?

mflorell wrote:Yes, you can have a trigger sent to your application when a ViciDial Agent receives a phone call. This can be done in a couple of ways, the easiest of which would be using the Start Call U*L feature.


Could you please tell me more of this "Start Call U*L feature"? Is it an api function? Or something to configure in vicidial administration?
They tell me we've bought the docs from the store, I'll also try to look there.

Thanks, your help is precious!!
Last edited by Francesco on Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:22 am

The agent has no choice whether to take the call, if they are available in the system, the call goes to them immediately.

The ViciDial Manager Manual and the help screens in admin.php has more information about the Start Call URL feature. It is set in the campaign detail screen and in the in-group modification screen.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:26 am

mflorell wrote:The agent has no choice whether to take the call, if they are available in the system, the call goes to them immediately.

The ViciDial Manager Manual and the help screens in admin.php has more information about the Start Call U*L feature. It is set in the campaign detail screen and in the in-group modification screen.


Thanks, I'll look into it.

Just one more thing I still cannot understand, the agent has no choice to take the call, you say it goes to him immediately, does that mean he hears the tone and then the call starts? i.e. he hears someone talking to him?
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:05 am

Yes
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:18 am

mflorell wrote:Yes


Ok, thanks again. I'm looking into the docs and I'll make some try. :)
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby Francesco » Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:10 am

I was going to do some attempt but I almost broke my leg and will be going back to work on monday. While in my bed I came up with another question : is it possible with apis to tell vicidial that an agent is not available to receive incoming calls until further notice? Like a coffee break pause?
If not could it be implemented by writing directly to the database?
Thanks for your patience.
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:32 pm

Yes, you can pause an agent using the agent API.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:28 am

mflorell wrote:Yes, you can pause an agent using the agent API.


Thanks :)
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby Francesco » Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:24 am

I'm back working at this, so, is it necessary for the user to log into the client agc2 GUI (the one that needs phone, agent and campaign fields) ? Would it be possible to login via APIs?
Thanks again
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am

Postby mflorell » Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:46 am

You cannot login as an agent only using the API.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18387
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Francesco » Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:47 am

mflorell wrote:You cannot login as an agent only using the API.


Fine, thanks :)
Francesco
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:30 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests