change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Any and all non-support discussions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby x44 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:32 am

Hi

I searched the forum and did not find the answer:
How to change font size on agent GUI.
It looks like the data fields use size 8 font, and after working with it long enough, it makes my
eyes hurt

what is the variable name and file name that I need to change to make it larger, or bold?

Thank you
AMD TK-55, 1.5GB RAM
Asterisk 1.4.39.1-vici
VERSION: 2.4-361a
BUILD: 120221-1647
libpri-1.4-current.tar.gz
dahdi-linux-complete-2.3.0.1+2.3.0

Ubuntu 8.04-LTE
scratch install
x44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby williamconley » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:28 pm

your browser has settings to increase size without altering Vicidial. in my case, holding down [ctrl] while scrolling the mouse will increase or decrease the size of the text in the browser. Every browser has a method. Usually both a menu based method and a shortcut key method. And no code changes necessary.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
Newest Product: Vicidial Agent Only Beep - Beta
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44(203) 769-2294
williamconley
 
Posts: 20258
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby x44 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:04 pm

What you suggest amounts to lowering screen resolution, from, say, 1600x1200 to 800x600
It makes things larger EVERYWHERE, not just where they need to be. I lose screen space that I need to work with other programs.

Agent's GUI has labels displaying in larger font size than data in the text boxes.

Wish it was other way around, or at least that they were of the same size.

I am not suggesting a GUI re-design here: Just a larger font ,so I don't have to squint.
That is just one setting / variable, that I'd like to change.
AMD TK-55, 1.5GB RAM
Asterisk 1.4.39.1-vici
VERSION: 2.4-361a
BUILD: 120221-1647
libpri-1.4-current.tar.gz
dahdi-linux-complete-2.3.0.1+2.3.0

Ubuntu 8.04-LTE
scratch install
x44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby williamconley » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:39 pm

no, that does not alter screen resolution. it merely changes the font sizing within the web browser. try it.

however, if you want to change some fonts without changing others, you'll need to modify the code for the page. hopefully you'll find the variable you seek. look for the code on the final page, find that code in the php page ... and see if there is a variable in use.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
Newest Product: Vicidial Agent Only Beep - Beta
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44(203) 769-2294
williamconley
 
Posts: 20258
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby DomeDan » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:42 am

There is a css-file meant to use in cases like this: /srv/www/htdocs/agc/css/custom.css

I've been in the same situation as you, I wanted every font in the agent interface a little bigger
and i did as William recommended (ctrl+scroll or ctrl+'+') to start with and its definitively a good way to achieve the goal
but i wanted to make it default, so I edited custom.css to this:
Code: Select all
body { padding:0; margin:0; background: #FFF; }

div.scroll_list { height: 400px; width: 140px; overflow: scroll; }
div.text_input { overflow: auto; font-size: 12px;  font-family: sans-serif; }
.body_text { font-size: 16px;  font-family: sans-serif; } /* the main page info text */
.queue_text_red { font-size: 14px;  font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold; color: red; }
.queue_text { font-size: 14px;  font-family: sans-serif; color: black; text-decoration:none; }
.preview_text { font-size: 15px;  font-family: sans-serif; background: #CCFFCC; }
.preview_text_red { font-size: 15px;  font-family: sans-serif; background: #FFCCCC; }
.body_small { font-size: 13px;  font-family: sans-serif; }
.body_small_bold { font-size: 13px;  font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold; }
.body_tiny { font-size: 12px;  font-family: sans-serif; }
.log_text { font-size: 15px;  font-family: monospace; } /* callback window for example */
.log_text_red { font-size: 15px;  font-family: monospace; font-weight: bold; background: #FF3333; } /* callback window for example */
.log_title { font-size: 16px;  font-family: monospace; font-weight: bold; } /* callback window for example */
.sd_text { font-size: 18px;  font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold; }
.sh_text { font-size: 16px;  font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold; }
.sb_text { font-size: 14px;  font-family: sans-serif; }
.sk_text { font-size: 13px;  font-family: sans-serif; }
.skb_text { font-size: 15px;  font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold; }
.ON_conf { font-size: 13px;  font-family: monospace; color: black; background: #FFFF99; }
.OFF_conf { font-size: 13px;  font-family: monospace; color: black; background: #FFCC77; }
.cust_form { font-family: sans-serif; font-size: 12px; overflow: hidden; }
.cust_form_text { font-family: sans-serif; font-size: 12px; overflow: auto; }

ViewCommentsBox.style { top: 385px; } /* history window, need to be further down when all text is bigger */

dont remever if that "ViewCommentsBox.style" really works,
but it needs to be changed because else you cant get rid of the history window once its opened, (you will see what i mean when you starts messing with it) :lol:
Vicidial Partner. Region: Sweden/Norway.
Does Vicidial installation, configuration, customization, add-ons, CRM implementation, support, upgrading, network-related, pentesting etc. Remote and onsite assistance.
Email: domedan (at) gmail.com
DomeDan
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:17 am
Location: Sweden

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby x44 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:58 pm

DomeDan
I tried altering custom.css, as you suggested.
Agent GUI did not change.

I tried altering variables in vicidial.php, like
$BROWSER_WIDTH = 700; # set to the minimum browser width, default=770

I thought gui is too wide - but altering that variable did not change it also.

The only font size I can change is the Version Info label
Any other thoughts?


But that did not change GUI also
That did not have any effect
AMD TK-55, 1.5GB RAM
Asterisk 1.4.39.1-vici
VERSION: 2.4-361a
BUILD: 120221-1647
libpri-1.4-current.tar.gz
dahdi-linux-complete-2.3.0.1+2.3.0

Ubuntu 8.04-LTE
scratch install
x44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby williamconley » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:26 pm

be careful to clear cache and even close the browser (and try other browsers) to be sure you are not still looking at the old version. That will sneak up on you.

Also, it is a good idea to duplicate the agent screen to a new file and alter that copy instead of the original. That way it has no effect on agents using the system.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
Newest Product: Vicidial Agent Only Beep - Beta
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44(203) 769-2294
williamconley
 
Posts: 20258
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: change font size within datafields on agent GUI

Postby x44 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:46 pm

After clearing cache and refreshing browser - IT WORKED!

Thank you!
AMD TK-55, 1.5GB RAM
Asterisk 1.4.39.1-vici
VERSION: 2.4-361a
BUILD: 120221-1647
libpri-1.4-current.tar.gz
dahdi-linux-complete-2.3.0.1+2.3.0

Ubuntu 8.04-LTE
scratch install
x44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:29 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests